Teach the Teacher

designing instruction in the 21st century

“Was Blind but Now I See”

After years of consulting blogs for reviews on the latest diet or exercise plans, insights into next seasons fashion trends, and “how to” advice from the DIY queens and kings of this world, my eyes were finally opened to the professional development opportunities available through blogs. I suddenly felt like a sixteen year old girl who picks up the newspaper, after her parents have caught up on the days current events, only to read her horoscope, comics, and advice columns, with no thought to the vital information in the neighboring sections.
This past week I grounded the 16 year old within me, and explored the professional development opportunities experienced bloggers were offering aspiring instructional designers like me. I must say I was very pleased with my findings!
As a part of my learning theories course, I was asked to highlight three blogs that I felt would be useful to me as a newbie to instructional design and technology. At the beginning of the week, I did not feel I was in any position to make solid recommendations in this area, but I must say I am happy with my selections.
(Drum roll please!) My three nominees for instructional design blogs are:
1. Upside Learning- Blog
This blog is specifically designed for newbies to instructional design. The blog features posts from multiple contributors. I found the postings very easy to follow, as they do not assume readers are well versed in the terminology common to the instructional design field. They are also extremely informative as contributors are often discussing current trends in the field. I envision myself consulting this blog often especially while in my infancy stages as an instructional designer. It is a great tool that allows beginners to stay current without getting lost in a mountain of jargon. However, I feel compelled to point out it is not updated regularly. The last post was March of this year, but I have a lot of catching up to do so it still works for me.

2. Instructional Design and Development Blog– A Service of the FITS Department at DePaul University
My second selection is another multi-contributor blog. . I consider this my well rounded selection. The contributors are a compilation of instructional design professors and students. Readers are offered a wealth of knowledge through frequent, relevant postings, suggestions to countless e- learning resources, and fresh prospectives are encouraged through steady dialogue among readers.

3. Rapid E-learning
Let me start by saying I absolutely love this blog, not just because it allows me to satisfy the cravings of my inner 16 year old with its witty and often comical postings, but largely due to the highly applicable topics explored (hence the title rapid e-learning). After reading one of Tom Kuhlmann’s blog posts I am inspired to “do”. This past week I found myself trying out some of his tips and tricks, and know this will be an invaluable resource for me when it comes time for me to start designing instruction.

Please feel free to offer feedback and recommend additional resources that may help instructional design newbies like me!

Nonni Jenkins

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““Was Blind but Now I See”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Ditto!

    Blogs have always been my primary source for searches when I needed a little more understanding on any topic. Why I chose to forgo this route when in search for educational topics is beyond me. The wealth of information provided in blogs is staggering. The concepts touched on are more expansive than any book,
    because it comes from real life and others’ experiences.

    Great Blog! I cannot wait to read more….

    Janika Wilson, M.B.A. HRM

Leave a comment