Teach the Teacher

designing instruction in the 21st century

Mapping Connections: Connect the Dots (la la la la la)

This week I was charged with completing a “mind mapping” activity on my learning connections. I am certain my kids thought I had completely lost my mind as I sat at my computer humming the infamous Peewee’s Playhouse song (Connect the Dots), as I attempted to create a visual representation of my learning connections.

Prior to beginning this assignment I thought learning to navigate Webspiration to create my graphic representation would be the most challenging part, but I was wrong. I had an extremely difficult time connecting the dots. I know I tend to over analyze things, which results in a tangled web of conflicting thoughts, but I have always operated under the premise that we learn from everything. How could I possibly list and categorize “everything” into a meaningful mind map?

                                                   My Thoughts    

Mind Map

 

In a last ditch effort I reviewed the information I read this week on connectivism, and realized despite my blank stare and eerie song choice I was on to something. Connectivism is deciphering, connecting, and organizing information into networks (Davis, Edmonds, Kelly-Baterman, 2008). I suddenly realized I did not have to list everything or everyone I have ever learned from, but needed to click my mental zoom out button and take a look at the big picture.

This new revelation enabled me to turn “everything” into 6 categories formal education, professional resources, life experience, social media, entertainment, and social interactions. Although I have gained invaluable information from all six, additional reflection revealed I do not learn from each network equally. The mass integration of technology into our everyday lives has had an enormous impact on how I learn. Prior to the internet age my primary learning networks were formal education, and personal interaction. However, today I would identify social media as my primary learning source as I use blogs, Youtube, online periodicals, and other web based information sources to help me make sense of information introduced from the other networks. Even when confronted with pressing question I tend to consult Auntie Google and Uncle Youtube before consulting with a member of my personal interactions network because these technologies allow me to obtain an immediate response to my burning questions.

Though I am not certain if connectivism is a learning theory as Siemens’ believes it to be, or a pedagogical view as Verhagen defines it (Davis, Edmonds, Kelly Bateman, 2008), I do know it best describes how I make meaning of  things, especially complex issues. I am a person who can become overwhelmed by overthinking details, and have found it necessary to make sense of things by initially viewing information through a broad lens, organizing it, and then focusing on the details.

 Resources

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology.

Laureate (2009). Video Program: “Connectivism”.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment